There are two types of Sleep Apnea.

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Sleep Apnea and other Sleep Disorders topics.

There are two types of Sleep Apnea.

The two types of Sleep Apnea are Obstructive and Central. Obstructive Sleep Apnea in which we call OSA is the process of the tissues, tonsils, or adenoids in the throat relaxing and falling over the airway limiting or blocking the air we breathe at night.

Then there is Central Sleep Apnea or CSA in which the brain forgets to tell us to breath. You see CSA in stroke patients and SIDS in children.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Sleep Disorders Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jennifer Mathes, Ph.D.